Line 01 / Compared on published terms
Best factoring companies for trucking, compared on what they publish
Lists of the best factoring companies usually rank firms on stars nobody can check. This one doesn't rank at all. It lines up six freight factoring companies on what each one says on its own website: the rate if published, recourse, funding speed, minimums, contract and fuel card. Then it shows you what to ask, so you can pick the one that costs you least.
Disclosure first: we refer carriers to our factoring partner, RTS, and may be paid for referrals. RTS is in the table on the same terms as everyone else: only what its own pages say, dated. We aren't paid by any other company listed.
Monthly invoices to factor
Quotes come from our factoring partner, RTS. We may be paid for referrals.
We refer carriers to our factoring partner, RTS, and may be paid for referrals. It does not change your rate. Disclosure. General information, not financial advice.
Line 02 / The comparison
Top freight factoring companies, side by side
Tap a filter to keep only the companies whose own page states it. "Not stated" means the page we checked doesn't say, not that the company doesn't offer it; ask in the quote. Each row links to the page we read. None of these companies published bookkeeping export formats on the pages we checked, so ask whether you can download invoice and fee reports for your bookkeeper.
SHOWING 6 OF 6 · FROM EACH COMPANY'S OWN PAGE, CHECKED 2026-10-06
| Company | Rate | Recourse | Funding | Minimums, reserve, fees | Contract | Fuel card | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTSOUR PARTNERSource | Not published; a fee charged after the customer pays | Not stated | Advances more than 90 percent within 24 hours; says "Get paid the same day" | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, separate fuel card service | Yes, upload invoices |
| DoftSource | 2.49% flat per load | Recourse; charge-back after 60 days | ACH within 1 business day | No volume commitment; $3 per ACH, no setup or transaction fee | 1 year, 30-day cancellation notice | Not stated | Not stated |
| BobtailSource | Usually 1.5% to 3.5% per invoice | Not stated on FAQ | Same day if submitted before 11 AM EST on weekdays | No reserve | 90-day trial, then a long-term contract | Yes, fleet card (home page) | Yes, mobile and web apps (home page) |
| Apex CapitalSource | Not published; varies by customers and volume | Recourse and non-recourse programs | Same or next day; nights and weekends for qualifying clients | No monthly minimum volume fees | Says no long-term contract restrictions | Yes, Apex fuel card | Yes, mobile factoring app |
| TriumphSource | Not published | Non-recourse on approved brokers | Eligible invoices paid in minutes | No minimums, no reserves | Not stated | Yes, fuel cards | Not stated |
| OTR SolutionsSource | Not published | Non-recourse | Instant, 24/7/365 | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, fuel credit and discounts | Not stated |
Only two of the six publish a rate. That is normal: most factoring company rates come with a quote. To turn any quote into a true cost per invoice with the fees added, use the calculator on freight factoring rates.
Line 03 / Questions to ask
Good factoring companies answer these in writing
Send the same list to every company you're considering, including RTS. The answers make quotes comparable, and how fast and plainly a company answers tells you something too.
Request a quote- Q01What is the rate, flat or tiered, and what does it become at my next volume step?
- Q02What share is advanced, and how many days after the broker pays is the reserve released?
- Q03Is it recourse or non-recourse? If non-recourse, exactly which losses are covered?
- Q04Every fee besides the rate: transfers, invoices, credit checks, fuel advances, minimums.
- Q05How long is the contract, does it renew on its own, and what does leaving early cost?
- Q06Must I factor every invoice, or can I choose loads and brokers?
- Q07Can I export invoice and fee reports for my bookkeeper?
- Q08How fast is funding, and is that on weekends too?
Line 04 / Red flags
Factoring company reviews won't show you these
Long contracts that renew themselves
A one- or two-year term that rolls over unless you cancel in a short window, with a fee to leave early. Fine if you know it; costly if you find out later.
Reserves held long
The reserve should come back soon after the broker pays. A contract that holds it for weeks, or until the end of the term, keeps your money working for the factor.
Fee stacking
A low headline rate with a fee on every transfer, invoice and broker check. Add them up per invoice; the stack can cost more than a higher flat rate.
The contract clauses behind each one, and how to read them, are on factoring contracts for trucking companies.
Line 05 / Where our partner fits
Where RTS fits, judged by the same standard
We may be paid if you factor with RTS after we refer you. It doesn't change your rate.
What its pages say
RTS says it advances more than 90 percent of an invoice within 24 hours, that you can get paid the same day, that it manages collections, and that it charges a small fee after the customer pays. It has an app for uploading invoices and a separate fuel card service.
Source: RTS, RTS freight factoring · checked Oct 2026
What it doesn't publish
Its rate, recourse terms, minimums and contract length aren't on its factoring page; they come with the quote. That puts it in the same place as most of this table. It suits carriers who want a quote with a high advance and fast funding and are happy to compare terms in writing. If you need a published flat rate before you talk to anyone, it isn't the first stop.
Line 06 / Best by situation
Best freight factoring companies for each situation
Disclosure: we may be paid for referrals to RTS. These picks come only from the published terms in the table, not from reviews or payments.
You want a rate before you call
Doft publishes 2.49% flat per load with recourse after 60 days and a one-year commitment. Bobtail publishes a range, usually 1.5% to 3.5%.
You want the broker's failure off your books
Triumph (approved brokers), OTR Solutions and Apex Capital say they offer non-recourse. Read which losses it covers.
You don't want minimums
Triumph states no minimums and no reserves; Apex no monthly minimum volume fees; Doft no volume commitment; Bobtail no reserve.
You need money nights and weekends
OTR Solutions says instant funding 24/7/365; Apex offers nights and weekends to qualifying clients; Triumph pays eligible invoices in minutes.
You want to leave easily
Apex says no long-term contract restrictions. Everyone else: ask for the term and exit fee in writing.
You want a high advance, quoted fast
RTS says it advances more than 90 percent within 24 hours. Ask for the rate and contract in the quote.
Factoring pays you sooner. Dispatch works on how much.
Our dispatchers negotiate every load and handle broker setup and paperwork for whichever factor you choose. Each load is offered to you before anything is booked, the rate confirmation comes to you, and you sign it or pass. See dispatch for owner-operators or apply for dispatch.
Line 07 / Questions
Best truck factoring companies: common questions
Is non-recourse always better?
No. Non-recourse usually costs more, and it typically covers only a broker that can't pay because of insolvency, often only on brokers the factor approved. Disputes over damage or paperwork usually stay with you. If you haul for strong brokers and keep a cash reserve, recourse at a lower rate can cost less over a year.
Which factoring company is best for trucking?
The one with the lowest true cost for your invoices and terms you can live with. That depends on your volume, your brokers, whether you need non-recourse, and how long a contract you will accept. Get two or three written quotes and compare them line by line, fees and contract included.
Do factoring companies offer fuel cards?
Many do. Of the six companies in the table on this page, five say on their own pages that they offer a fuel or fleet card. Discounts, networks and credit terms vary, and some cards are tied to factoring with that company. Compare the card on its own merits, not as a reason to pick the factor.
What should I look for in a factoring company?
The full cost per invoice, fees included; the advance and when the reserve comes back; recourse terms; funding speed; minimum volume; contract length and how to cancel; and whether you can export reports for your bookkeeper. Then check how quickly a person answers when you call.
Which factoring companies have no long contracts?
Of the pages we checked, Apex Capital says it has no long-term contract restrictions. Doft states a one-year commitment with 30 days notice; Bobtail a 90-day trial before a long-term contract. The others don't state contract length on the page we checked. Ask for the term, renewal and exit fee in writing.
General information, not financial advice. Terms change; check each company's current page and written quote.
Compare a quote from our partner
Quotes come from our factoring partner, RTS. We may be paid for referrals.
We refer carriers to our factoring partner, RTS, and may be paid for referrals. It does not change your rate. Disclosure. General information, not financial advice.
Written by
Updated October 6, 2026. Every rate and date on this page has its source and the date we checked it. How we research
Factor faster, and book loads that pay more
Get a factoring quote from RTS, and let our dispatchers negotiate the loads it pays you for. You confirm every load; no forced dispatch, no setup fee.
No setup fee. No contract. You confirm every load.
EXAMPLE
EXAMPLE week. Not a promise of loads or income.